Jump to content


Photo

DMX Input for Clarity


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Thomas Koppers

Thomas Koppers

    Advanced Member

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kevelaer, Germany

Posted 18 March 2012 - 08:37 AM

What I start missing at the moment is an input for DMX signals. Would it be possible to add this feature in future somehow to the software. For sure also a DMX-In hardware must be created also. Is there somehow this idea in a roadmap?

See you wednesday in Frankfurt.
Greets Thomas
  • 0

#2 Pero

Pero

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade, Serbia

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:01 PM

Hmmmm... Let me see... Programmer>Toolbox> Grab DMX smile.gif
  • 0

Pero Trifuljesku

 

Total Light, Belgrade


#3 Thomas Koppers

Thomas Koppers

    Advanced Member

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kevelaer, Germany

Posted 19 March 2012 - 01:49 AM

QUOTE (Pero @ 19 Mar 2012, 10:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hmmmm... Let me see... Programmer>Toolbox> Grab DMX smile.gif


Yea but where i get the Input signal from? ArtNet? I have no DMX Input so far and could it be merged then? (Background is i need for some fu**ing Par cans an touchable device. However clarity should be the Main Control anyway and its too pity to use 16 fader for this par cans wink.gif
  • 0

#4 Pero

Pero

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade, Serbia

Posted 19 March 2012 - 04:44 AM

Hi Thomas,

Yes, you can use Artnet as DMX Input but so far there is no possibility to merge DMX in Clarity.

  • 0

Pero Trifuljesku

 

Total Light, Belgrade


#5 anderl

anderl

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Grafenwöhr, Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:LSC, what else

Posted 24 November 2014 - 05:02 PM

Hi,
Pick this up back. I think this is a very helpful feature. On many consoles this is standard.

 

In my Solution i think it was really nice, to use my maxim, to control Cuelists, or conventional light, effects, fog oder blinders.

 

Is it a practially possible, to use DMX D with an Male to Male Adapter to get DMX Signal in?

 

Regards,

Andreas


  • 0

#6 LSC TechSupport

LSC TechSupport

    Guru

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,308 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:My wife and two daughters, Water skiing, Sleeping :-)

Posted 25 November 2014 - 12:56 AM

It is on the list of possibe features to add, but given that only two users have asked for it, and there was a gap of two years between the requests it is not very high on the list at the moment.

 

Our Nexus Ethernet-DMX converters offer this functionality, and a heap more, as do many other brands of interfaces, so this might be another way to solve your problem.


  • 0
Regards
Richie Mickan
TechSupport
LSC Lighting Systems
LSC Web Site
Email me

#7 silasfueglistaler

silasfueglistaler

    Advanced Member

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Interests:technical staff, music, fotography, videography

Posted 01 December 2014 - 12:51 PM

I now, its may not the wright topic to ask this questions. But anyway.

 

How work the nexus? Is it possible to use as e.g. pandoras box as rgb generator for my 5x5 matrix panels, and clarity for Intensity's and at some show points switch the matrix panel to full controll from clarity?
 

When this is possible, can i do this over artnet from my lx console? or does i need to controll this from the nexlan software?


  • 0

#8 LSC TechSupport

LSC TechSupport

    Guru

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,308 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:My wife and two daughters, Water skiing, Sleeping :-)

Posted 03 December 2014 - 06:29 PM

Hi Silas,

 

The Nexus allows you to do a two way merge onto each of the five outputs (soon to be upgraded to three way merge in v2 software). This can be done on a channel by channel basis, as either LTP, HTP or via a control channel.

 

It is very simple to merge the Intensity from Clarity with RGB from the media server. You could do the Intensity channels to always be Clarity only, and the RGB to LTP, so whichever device changes the RGB channels gets control. If this sounds too risky then you can set a single DMX channel to change between Clarity and Pandora control on the Nexus.

 

It would all be automatic/stand alone once configured, so no need to run the nexLAN software during a show.


  • 0
Regards
Richie Mickan
TechSupport
LSC Lighting Systems
LSC Web Site
Email me

#9 silasfueglistaler

silasfueglistaler

    Advanced Member

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Interests:technical staff, music, fotography, videography

Posted 04 December 2014 - 02:00 AM

Hi Guru,

 

This sounds like a nice tool, to fix the non merge funcition ;) I talked to our swiss distributor. He will send me one to test. Thank you for your answer!


  • 0

#10 Mat

Mat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 29 April 2015 - 01:55 AM

+1 for the Artnet Input DMX merge.

 

Also with the ability to merge or override selected attributes.

So, for example, to receive colours from pixel mapping over artnet.


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users